Tuesday, February 28, 2012

fields have ears (6) : released!

I'm very happy to announce that fields have ears (6) is now officially available from erstdist and can be ordered from this page or that site. There's some information about the release a couple posts down. The inside of the card comes with notes on the piece and a page of the score (which you can see in Yuko Zama's photo of the packaging below).

Soon I hope to post about the concepts behind the two series, Hearing Metal and fields have ears. Each series has so far been represented by three recordings - on Gravity Wave (Hearing Metal 2, Hearing Metal 3, and now fields have ears (6)), Edition Wandelweiser Records (Hearing Metal 1, EWR 0902) and another timbre (fields have ears (1) and fields have ears (4), both on at37).

Wednesday, February 8, 2012

Artwork for GW 007

Here is a preview of Yuko Zama's striking final design for fields have ears (6) (GW 007). It is now at the printers, and we are still expecting this disc to be available by the end of February.

Some Upcoming Performances

In the last week of February I will have a strange little trip to Oberlin (Ohio) and Amsterdam (Holland).

From 19 to 22 February, I'll be a guest at Oberlin College for some talks and master classes. There will be a public performance of my work by students at the college on 22 February. Here's the program:

The shipwreck of the singular [harmony series no. 13] (2005)

within (2) (1996)
Tomorrow [harmony series no. 16b] (2005)
July Mountain (2009) (in a new version by David Bird, Eugene Kim and Christian Smith)
Where there is [harmony series no. 16a] (2005)
melody, silence (2011), Michael Pisaro, guitar
No longer wild [harmony series no. 15] (2005)

From 23 to 26 February, I will be at this year's Sonic Acts festival in Amsterdam. I'll be giving a talk on "music minus time" (on the same session with Keith Fullerton Whitman) at 10:30 a.m. on 25 February. Starting at 7:00 p.m. on the 26th, there will be a long evening of music of extended duration. This will include performances of my pieces Ils: harmony series no. 18 and fields have ears (5): vapor by Konzert Minimal from Berlin; and an extended guitar duo with Taku Sugimoto.